A little bit about me…

I want to have a career that I love. I want to look forward to getting up at silly o’clock in the morning and heading off to work because I love my job, and what I produce. As it stands, this isn’t the case. I love both the environment and the incredible people I work with, but I don’t love the work. Incase you’re wondering, I work in Digital Marketing, specifically Social Media Marketing. This continuously evolving field of work is something that really interests me, and the skills I’ve picked up and developed will be skills I’ll use throughout my career, but it’s just not where my passion lies.

So I asked myself a very important question. What am I passionate about?

The answer was simple.

Games.

I’ve been playing video games since I was a tiny tot. One of my earliest memories is sitting beside my dad, each with a Dreamcast controller in hand playing the likes of Sonic Adventure and House of the Dead. Little did I know that my dad had actually deceived me  by not plugging in my controller. Cruel parenting if you ask me! But anyway…

When I get home from work I switch on my Xbox and play games. When I’m travelling to and from work, I’m reading about the latest gaming news and upcoming releases. When I’m down the pub, I’m eager to have a conversation about what everyone is playing. When I’m scrolling my Twitter feed, it’s full of gaming content. Video games are such a dominant part of my life, and I believe they always will be.

So what am I doing to get myself into the games industry?

I’m currently teaching myself to 3D model using a piece of free software called Blender, with the aid of online tutorials. I’ve subscribed to an excellent site called CG Cookie with tons of detailed video tutorials, and a community space for creative individuals to share their work and discuss tips, tricks and techniques. Gradually, I’ll learn to texture my models, work with lighting and finally dip my hand into some animation. A little while down the road, I intend to import my work into a game development engine called Unity and create my own basic games to further demonstrate my interest and passion for the video games industry.

I bet you’re asking why I’m not busy modelling and what’s the purpose of this blog?

I thought it would be sensible idea to not only have a space to share the work I create, but a space to document my learning experience. Any troubles I have modelling, I’ll make a note of in here and how I overcame the problem. I’ll also be using this as a creative space to share other artists work I would like to draw inspiration from.  Not to forget to mention it also allows me to continue building on the content creation side of my Digital Marketing skills.

So there we have it. A quick introduction and a heads up on what I’ll be posting here.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “A little bit about me…

Leave a comment